No Bake Salt Dough

A salt dough is basically a homemade clay . It can be used for arts and crafts , making ornaments and for making custom made gifts. I use it for making flowers, charms and keychains.

This time i'm making it for my husband, as a gift from our baby 👶🏻. Its his first birthday as a Dad!🙆🏻‍♂️👨‍👦

I thought i will get my baby's hand 🖐🏻 imprint on the dough , so that we can cherish it forever.

For preparing the salt dough you just need 3 simple ingredients:

  • 1/2cup flour 
  • 1/2cup salt
  • 1/2cup boiling water

Method :

Add flour n salt to a bowl and add in the water slowly combining everything to a soft dough. I started to mix with as a whisk as the water was too hot. Then slowly combined with 🤚 

This dough can be used to create basically anything!!!

Drying time will be according to the thickness of your design .

In my case it was 1 cm thick. It took 2 days to dry.

This is my baby's handprint. I painted when it was completely dry with acrylic paints.

You can even glue beads , pearls and i have seen people using glitter too.

You can wrap the excess dough in clear wrap and use it for further use. It can stay upto 6 months!

There's nothing that you can't DIY ✨

Leave a comment